Send Topic Print
Welcome (Read 55,221 times)

Ned A from South GA
WR Addict

Formerly Nappen who said...Sleep
is for wimps

Re: Welcome
Reply #15 - Mar 20th, 2005 at 4:54pm

Welcome, and I have been to your site before, nice to meet you.  I am just getting into stoppers and have a peppermill set I have yet to start, though I have asked everyone here their advise on them.

I'm not addicted to coffee, it just keeps the headaches away.

IP Logged

tejaswood

WWW.TEJASWOOD.C OM

Reply #16 - Mar 21st, 2005 at 8:41am

Thanks for your welcome. I have chosen to go with the antique style mechanisims for my pepper mills. Since I do production work, time is my worst enemy. Trying to drill the 1/2 dozen holes for a regular mill plus trying to match up the top and bottom just takes me too long. Also my wine stoppers use a simple shape which is easy to turn with pretty consistant results. Also with the flat top it allow's me to insert pretty much anything I want. I still need to get a mini lathe. It hurts to watch my electric meter evertime I turn on my Powermatic. Especially to turn such small items. Oh well, in time.

IP Logged

Rick in Lincoln
WR Addict

keep on turnin'

Reply #17 - Mar 21st, 2005 at 1:15pm

Mike, those are some wicked cool mills!  I've never seen mechanisms like that, looks like something from Rube Goldbergs (or DaVinci's)  lab.  Do you have those made?

A cubicle is just a padded cell without a door.

IP Logged

tejaswood

WWW.TEJASWOOD.C OM

Reply #18 - Mar 22nd, 2005 at 5:52am

Rick,