Home Page Forum HelpSearch Map TPT Resources LoginRegister

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
OFF THE CHARTS!!! (Read 1,853 times)

junior
Ex Member

OFF THE CHARTS!!!
Sep 24th, 2005 at 7:47pm

my excitement level is off the charts!!! I just got pictures of the lathe, and goodies i am buying!!!

I am gonna get a set of chisels and such very very soon. It is so hard to be patient, but i have ALOT of things to take care of before i get this bad boy!!! oh man, this is so much FUN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

IP Logged

Ned A from South GA
WR Addict

Formerly Nappen who said...Sleep
is for wimps

Re: OFF THE CHARTS!!!
Reply #1 - Sep 25th, 2005 at 5:22am

Relax, I love the enthusiasm, but don't go in to agressively. Take your time and enjoy it. I am fairly new to woodturning, and only get a couple of hours a month to do it right now, but can give some advise.

1) Get some cheap pine or such and practice. Make the spindle round, then practice coves, beads etc, then make it round again and so on until it is a tiny spindle and then start over. This way you will learn the proper presentation and the feel for turning without the pressure of having to worry about a final product.  Then a few catches will just be learning and not an actual problem or concern.

2) Either read a couple of books, or watch a couple of videos (which ever way works better for you). I have a stack of books by my bed and it is my night time reading and I always learn something.

3) If you are having problems, go back to the beginning..ie is the tool sharp (this is typically my problem...I get so involved, I neglect my tool) then the ABCs (Anchor to the tool rest, Bevel presentation, Cut)

Let us know any particular problems and the guys here are more than likely to overwhelm you with opinions. Cheesy

I'm not addicted to coffee, it just keeps the headaches away.

IP Logged

Glenn
WR Addict

Reply #2 - Sep 25th, 2005 at 5:37am