Woodturner's Resource
Woodturner's Resource  
  • Featured Artist    • Websites   Support Wr
Tutorials, Projects & Tips   • Event Calendar   • Tool and Book Store
  Home Page Forum HelpSearch Map TPT Resources LoginRegister

Pages: 1 2 
Send Topic Print
I've got the black sandpaper blues (Read 3,670 times)

JR
Ex Member

I've got the black sandpaper blues
Oct 23rd, 2005 at 6:19pm

Hello.  This is my first, but hopefully not last, post on this board.

I'm a beginner turner.  I've made a few projects, mostly pen and pencil type stuff, a walnut bowl, and now I'm working on a saucer.  Why a saucer, you ask?  Partly for practice, but also because I was given a very nice piece of fiddleback grained maple, 3/4" thick.  It's a nice looking piece of wood, and a saucer is hiding in there somewhere.

I turned down one side, sanded it thru 600 grit and applied French polish.  Looking closely at it, I noticed that the surface looked dirty in parts, with tiny specks, which I assume are particles from the black sandpaper from grits 320 thru 600.

So to finally get to my question:  What kind of fine sandpaper is available that isn't black?  And where can I get some?  I went to several hardware stores and homecenters in search, and found some light colored 400 grit made by 3M.  I think it's a new product.  I took chisel to wood and recut the piece and sanded to 400 with the new paper, and now it looks "clean", but the fine scratches are present from the 400.  I need finer paper, but don't want to use the black.

And, of course, I'm dying to finish this project. Smiley

IP Logged

Negeltu

Re: I've got the black sandpaper blues
Reply #1 - Oct 23rd, 2005 at 6:32pm

The black 3M Wet/Dry sandpaper is great.  I use the 320, 400 and 600 grits.  I do not have the problem with it coming off on the wood.  I almost always sand to 600g.  Also, try not to apply too much pressure as it will often cause the problem you are speaking of when using cheaper abrasives.