Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Introduction (Read 1,209 times)

WKuhn
WR Noob

Introduction
Feb 18th, 2006 at 10:40am

Hello, I’m the new guy here.
My name is Wayne and I am a turnaholic, there I said it.
I have been woodworking as a serious hobby since 2000.
I joined a wood turning club (Baltimore Area Turners ) last year and have sliding down that slippery slope ever since.
I  have spent many $$ on my hobby in the past, however since I just upgraded my lathe from a sears mono-tube to a Grizzly G0462. Things have gotten worse.  So I thought I would come here for some help to control the urges.  I can’t go into my shop with-out at least turning a pen or just making wood chips fly with my practice scraps.  My tablesaw, jointer and planer are getting jealous.  I fear they are planning an intervention.  BTW, my wife is an enabler, she let me purchase my new lathe as a birthday present a month in advance and I have not heard a peep about the other purchases that followed.
I have really enjoyed reading the posts here and have gained a lot of useful info.  None about how to quit this addiction.  Are you all enablers also?
I really have an urge to post other info here about myself, my lathe and other projects.
I need help.

IP Logged

E. Bud Gillaspie
WR Addict

Where'd I put that round
tuit?

Re: Introduction
Reply #1 - Feb 18th, 2006 at 11:25am

Wayne, all you need to do to keep your planer/jointer from getting jelous is to do segmented turnings. You'll need both those tools to true-up blocks before cutting segments w/your bandsaw. Hummmm, no bandsaw? Scrollsaw? See, you need more toys as well. Roll Eyes

Lathes are for makin' pretty ribbons of wood on the way to makin' a pretty bowl, vase, whatever. Just remember to keep the tools sharp and play safely.

Oh, feel free to post whatever it is that pleases/bugs ya about our "hobby", including pics in the galleries.

Welcome to "vortex reinforcement" WR-style Wink