Home Page Forum HelpSearch Map TPT Resources LoginRegister

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Spindle Speed (Read 760 times)

pa-paw

I love YaBB 1G - SP1!

Spindle Speed
Feb 19th, 2006 at 12:15pm

I’m sort of stuck with an old technology lathe, so I’m working with the pulley and belt system. As I understand it, my spindle speed might be too high for safe bowl turning. At least that’s the feeling over on the Woodnet forum. What do I have to do with what I’ve got in order to get down to that magic 700 RPM spindle speed? I’m not positive, but I think that my motor’s RPM is 1725. Sorry, I don’t any paperwork on the lathe. The pulleys are both step-downs of four which run from 4” O.D. down to 2” O.D. Thanks.
Multimedia File Viewing and Clickable Links are available for Registered Members only!!  You need to Login or Register

IP Logged

diver

When all i said and done
more is said than done

Re: Spindle Speed
Reply #1 - Feb 19th, 2006 at 12:32pm

Hello Pawpa
Im no turning expert yetbut I know in Canada you can find pulleys in many hardware outlets
Id just measure the o/d of your motor shaft and go to our local DIY place and look for a 1 inch pully or a larger driven pulley to reduce your speed.
Diver

IP Logged

Freddie Hicks
WR Addict

Lubbock, Texas, USA
Lubbock
Texas
USA

Reply #2 - Feb 19th, 2006 at 1:20pm

Here is a web site with a speed calculator  Multimedia File Viewing and Clickable Links are available for Registered Members only!!  You need to Login or Register
For 700rpm you need a 1" pulley on the motor and a 4" pulley on the lathe shaft or a 2" pulley on the motor and a 5" pulley on the shaft, that is if you have your motor speed correct.
« Last Edit: Feb 19th, 2006 at 1:40pm by Freddie Hicks »  

Mi Vida Echa en Madera

IP Logged

Bob Hamilton
WR Addict

Forest, Ontario, Canada, Ontario, Canada
Forest, Ontario, Canada
Ontario
Canada

Reply #3 - Feb 19th, 2006 at 1:24pm

Hi: