Woodturner's Resource
Woodturner's Resource  
  • Featured Artist    • Websites   Support Wr
Tutorials, Projects & Tips   • Event Calendar   • Tool and Book Store
  Home Page Forum HelpSearch Map TPT Resources LoginRegister

Pages: 1 2 3 
Send Topic Print
Heat Transfer Technique (Read 4,654 times)

Leo Frilot
WR Addict

When the going gets tough,
get a bigger gouge!!!

Baton Rouge, LA, Louisiana, USA
Baton Rouge, LA
Louisiana
USA

Heat Transfer Technique
Jan 26th, 2008 at 10:29am

Just wanted to share some info about transferring images to wood to give the laser engraved effect.  In essence, this is simply an iron on transfer.  I have been using this technique to personalize pens for a few years now and it is real simple to achieve.  I currently have a Pecan pen that is going on 5 years and showing no signs on the transfer fading.  Items required are:
  • Transfer tool  Multimedia File Viewing and Clickable Links are available for Registered Members only!!  You need to Login or Register

• Laser Printer (if using a computer)

• Laser Copier (if using a computer with ink jet printer or using hand drawn images)

I use powerpoint but you can use other software as well.  Whatever you create on the computer can be transferred onto wood, but for it to be legible (text and certain images) you'll have to print it as a mirror image.  If you don't have that function for your particular printer, you can usually use the Flip Horizontal function to get the same results. I've used this mainly on text but i have ideas to use it for graphics as well.  
Works best when printed on regular 18# or 20# paper, but requires a laser print.  Ink jet print will not transfer.  If using an ink jet printer or using a hand drawn image you'll have to photocopy it on a laser copier (i.e. Xerox copier).