Send Topic Print
The Raffan Cut (Read 4,365 times)

Chuck Beland
WR Addict

I got my eyes on you.

Re: The Raffan Cut
Reply #15 - Apr 23rd, 2008 at 3:25am

Jeremy,
I have to agree with Ed he does go way to fast for teaching purposes.

The dog was created especially for children. He is the God of frolic.
http://www.facebook.com/home.php#!/  
IP Logged

Ed Weber
WR Administrator
WR Patron

Wilton, California, USA
Wilton
California
USA

JET 1642
Grizzly G0584
Reply #16 - Apr 23rd, 2008 at 7:59am

In one of the DVDs I have he is going to show you how to turn a bowl. However, the way he mounted it was purley for the purpose of showing off IMHO.
He has a bowl blank with a hole drilled in the center, then with the lathe spinning Shocked, he puts the blank on the screw center, SMACK. The screw grabbed that blank and yanked it into the faceplate in about a nono-second.
I am a beginner and would never try that, ever.

IP Logged

JDLanger
WR Addict

Got Wood?

Reply #17 - Apr 23rd, 2008 at 1:18pm

That's actually how I mount smaller blanks, up to about 10 or 12 inches, on my woodworm, lathe running, let the lathe do the work.  I learned that from him.  I learned a lot of things that save a LOT of time from Raffan.  I use his roughing cuts, and can rough a bowl to 1/2" thickness in about 6 cuts.  Grand total of two minutes turning.