Home Page Forum HelpSearch Map TPT Resources LoginRegister

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Top sellers (Read 1,248 times)

William Bryant

Tree-huggers Beware!

Top sellers
Jan 23rd, 2010 at 7:59pm

I am new to the process of selling turnings, but was wondering what is the best product to make? What sells the most or what brings in the most money? Just wondering

IP Logged

Register To Remove Ads
JimQuarles
WR Addict
WR Patron

WR Rocks, BIG Time!

Glendale, AZ, Arizona, USA
Glendale, AZ
Arizona
USA

Re: Top sellers
Reply #1 - Jan 23rd, 2010 at 8:18pm

Hope you have a worm trap, cause you just opened up the can.  What sells best will vary widely around the country, and even from one side of town to the other.  I live in west Phoenix area, and have never sold a bottle stopper over here, but across town I sold 6 in one day.  A lot will depend on your level of skill.  A heavy bowl will sell before a heavy hollow form, but if you have the technique for doing a thin wall HF, you may get much more money for it.  I mostly sell pens and gross a couple grand a year from word of mouth advertising.

JimQuarles

Mentor Basics, Pens, small stuff, Acrylics, EasyRougher.
Just Turnin' Around!  Glendale, AZ  Cool Cool

"Right now I'm having amnesia and deja vu at the same time.
I think I've forgotten this before." - Steven Wright

IP Logged

Lee Goehring

West Central Wisconsin, Wisconsin, USA
West Central Wisconsin
Wisconsin
USA

Reply #2 - Jan 23rd, 2010 at 9:01pm

The best one to make? My advice would be to start with the ones you enjoy making - you'll probably do a better job and it will show up in the finished product. 
As Jim said, it varies with the show, and a bunch of other things too. If you ever get a good handle on it, let us all know. But then you get into market saturation, price wars,  boredom. I think a variety of items is a good idea, but some turners like to specialize in one or two things. So I guess you could say "it depends"...

Lee