Turned by Paul

Allen, TX, Texas, USA
Allen, TX
Texas
USA

PM3520B
Cherry blotching
Dec 5th, 2012 at 11:29pm

I am building a dinning room table from some flitch swan cherry lumber. I dimensioned the lumber with my Jet 22/44 drum sander and glued up the top. I ran the top through the drum sander again to take out the glue lines and the worked up through the grains, (random orbital snader) 100, 150, 220 and finally with a a finish sander, 320 and 400. It was my intention to give it a coat of shellac and then tone it with Trans Tint dye to darken it a bit.

When I shot on a coat of 1# cut dewaxed blond shellac I had horrible blotching at 60 degree angle to the grain sort of like tiger stripes. The blotching in only apparent when viewed at a few angles. I sanded off the shellac and went after it with 60 grit and then up from there. Still the tiger stripes!!!

I am new to cherry. I know it is famous for blotching, but I thought this was mostly around grain swirl places. My thing looks like tiger stripes.

Tonight I wetted the raw top in hope of raising the grain and then being able to knock the top off and obliterating the tiger stripes.

Any help will be appreciated.

IP Logged

Register To Remove Ads
Scott Wheeler
WR Addict

The wood on the wathe
goes wound & wound

Reading PA, Pennsylvania, USA
Reading PA
Pennsylvania
USA

Re: Cherry blotching
Reply #1 - Dec 6th, 2012 at 7:56am

Paul I have had the same problems with Cherry and have always been able to sand out any blotches and don’t know what to tell you about your blotches from Shellac.  The best results I found for staining is one, to use a gel stain and Transtint Dyes to get the color I was looking for, its not as deep of a stain but it eliminates any spotting.  Or I have tinted my finish with Transtint and spray it,  usually with a water based finish like Enduro or EM6000 Target Coatings seem to work well.   Good Luck!

IP Logged

Jim Webb

Pikeville, Tennessee, USA
Pikeville
Tennessee
USA