Woodturner's Resource
Woodturner's Resource  
  Featured Artist    Websites   Support Wr
Tutorials, Projects & Tips   Event Calendar   Tool and Book Store
  Home Page Forum HelpSearch Map TPT Resources LoginRegister

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
any experience with longevity of segmented work (Read 528 times)

Breck Whitworth
WR Supporter

WR Rocks!

Gulfport, Mississippi, USA
Gulfport
Mississippi
USA

PM 3520-B
any experience with longevity of segmented work
Apr 21st, 2013 at 9:04am

If I glue up some beautiful hardwoods for bowls or platters what can I expect in longevity compared to bowls or platters made from one piece of wood. (utility use & decorative use )  Is there a better finish that will help protect segmented work when the piece is used for utility purposes? I wouldn't think an oil finish would protect the piece as well as, say a polyurathane or lacquer finish? But since I have no experience with these things.

May the Lord Bless the work of our hands! And Necessity is the mother of invention:

IP Logged

Register To Remove Ads
Walt
WR Patron

WR Rocks!

Hanford, California, USA
Hanford
California
USA

PM 3520A
Re: any experience with longevity of segmented work
Reply #1 - Apr 21st, 2013 at 10:02am

Well Breck, time will tell. After a couple of weeks most new segment ears see what's called glue creep. Little annoying ridges at all the seems. It is unite normal. To eliminate I try to wait to do the final sanding to give the wood time to move or relax and get the creep. The remove it with a cabinet scraper and a final sanding and then finish.

I have not used any of my segmented turning for everyday utility dish wear. Bless you are using a water proof the constant exposer to water could cause glue joints to fail. I do use them for candy dishes, desk pencil cups and clip cups. These I've used spray gloss Deft and they are holding up well.