Woodturner's Resource
Woodturner's Resource  
  • Featured Artist    • Websites   Support Wr
Tutorials, Projects & Tips   • Event Calendar   • Tool and Book Store
  Home Page Forum HelpSearch Map TPT Resources LoginRegister

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
dry? wet? peppermill/spindle turning (Read 786 times)

Josh Horsley
WR Noob

WR Rocks!

dry? wet? peppermill/spindle turning
Jan 16th, 2014 at 3:04am

Hi all,  I am new to turning and have spent hours on the web and with books trying to figure it out.  I turned a 6" peppermill last week out of dark walnut.  I was very pleased with how it turned out.  The next day the top was tight and I sanded it and refinished it again to make it fit loose. A week later it wont even go together.  I'm guessing I turned it with the wood too wet.  It dosn't appear warpped  Undecided .  I bought the wood off ebay and dont know when it was cut.  I have read about and used the two turn methed for  wet bowls. I have found nothing on wet spindle/peppermill work or I just could be missing something somewhere.   How do you judge when the wood is right or too wet??? or what process is best for turning things like peppermills, boxes, spindle work with wet wood???  Should I turn it like a wet bowl, once, wait four/six months and turn it again???

Thanks

Josh

IP Logged

Jerry Marcantel
WR Supporter

WR Rocks!

Tucson, Arizona, Arizona, USA
Tucson, Arizona
Arizona
USA

Re: dry? wet? peppermill/spindle turning
Reply #1 - Jan 16th, 2014 at 7:59am

I did a bunch once. The wood was soaking wet when rounded. I cut the chamber and top,  also drilled the hole, and bagged them for about 6 months. So, rough turn them, and go back later to do the final turning..
My wood was mesquite, so it's pretty stable anyway.... ....... Jerry (in Tucson)
« Last Edit: Jan 16th, 2014 at 8:00am by Jerry Marcantel »  

IP Logged

Ed Weber
WR Global Moderator
WR Patron

Wilton, California, USA
Wilton
California
USA

JET 1642
Grizzly G0584