Woodturner's Resource
Woodturner's Resource  
  Featured Artist    Websites   Support Wr
Tutorials, Projects & Tips   Event Calendar   Tool and Book Store
  Home Page Forum HelpSearch Map TPT Resources LoginRegister

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
How is it even possible to compete with Ebay?! (Read 1,546 times)

Derek Goins

Solon, Ohio, USA
Solon
Ohio
USA

How is it even possible to compete with Ebay?!
Feb 21st, 2014 at 4:33pm

At this point I'm not particularly interested in selling any of my turning.  I'm still learning and having fun...but I am seeing where it'd be useful to sell some of these pens and other misc turnings I'm doing, simply to recoup funds to make more.

I took a peek on ebay and saw some gorgeous goblets for $15?!! or $20 or all very low numbers...or at least in my mind.  Or pens going for $10 or so...It cost me $10 just in materials if I'm using crummy wood to make a pen...not even counting my labor.  I realize alot of you don't sell via Ebay, but how can a turner compete with the mass producers?  Now I'll feel guilty asking $40 for a goblet when I know they could go get for cheaper. 

Obviously there is a difference between art and utility and of course there are other places to market besides Ebay. But as a logical person I can't ignore the fact there is some really cheap stuff online that looks great, I just don't understand how we can combat that?

IP Logged

Register To Remove Ads
Ed Weber
WR Global Moderator
WR Patron

Wilton, California, USA
Wilton
California
USA

JET 1642
Grizzly G0584
Re: How is it even possible to compete with Ebay?!
Reply #1 - Feb 21st, 2014 at 8:53pm

Derek, I have seen exactly what you're talking about more than I'd like to, and not just on ebay.
Derek Goins wrote on Feb 21st, 2014 at 4:33pm:
Now I'll feel guilty asking $40 for a goblet when I know they could go get for cheaper.