Woodturner's Resource
Woodturner's Resource  
  • Featured Artist    • Websites   Support Wr
Tutorials, Projects & Tips   • Event Calendar   • Tool and Book Store
  Home Page Forum HelpSearch Map TPT Resources LoginRegister

Pages: 1 2 
Send Topic Print
Help needed from you camera buffs (Read 4,025 times)

Syd Sellers

WR Rocks!

West Kelowna, British Columbia, Canada
West Kelowna
British Columbia
Canada

Help needed from you camera buffs
Aug 24th, 2014 at 12:20pm

I'm no expert when it comes to taking pics of the quality I see on this forum. So I have to ask a "How To" question. When I take a pic of two glasses or for that matter two of anything side by side they never look good. In this pic, these glasses are the same hight, size and shape, but as you see they look pretty bad. How does one fix this issue??
« Last Edit: Aug 24th, 2014 at 12:34pm by Syd Sellers »  
Multimedia File Viewing and Clickable Links are available for Registered Members only!!  You need to Login or Register newDSC01871.jpg (Attachment deleted)

Syd Sellers
Rocky Roost Wood Turning
If it isn't round, it hasn't been turned yet!
Multimedia File Viewing and Clickable Links are available for Registered Members only!!  You need to Login or Register
WWW Syd Sellers s.sellers@me.com  
IP Logged

Register To Remove Ads
Ron Sardo
WR Administrator
WR Patron

Chief cook and bottle
washer

Drums, Pennsylvania, USA
Drums
Pennsylvania
USA

PM 3520
Re: Help needed from you camera buffs
Reply #1 - Aug 24th, 2014 at 12:45pm

Glass is one of the harder things to photograph.

Get the background as far from the main object as possible, I'm talking at least three feet away.

Use a longer lens and place the camera at least three feet away from the main object

You'll need a way to filter the lights to soften the edges and keep a close eye on what shows through the glass (the background). The highlights and shadows that fall on the glass are important to consider.

Backgrounds with seams are never a good idea.