Woodturner's Resource
Woodturner's Resource  
  • Featured Artist    • Websites   Support Wr
Tutorials, Projects & Tips   • Event Calendar   • Tool and Book Store
  Home Page Forum HelpSearch Map TPT Resources LoginRegister

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Best way to cut a recess for a chuck (Read 801 times)

Richard Wilabee

WR Rocks!

Palm Springs Area, California, California, USA
Palm Springs Area, California
California
USA

Best way to cut a recess for a chuck
Aug 24th, 2014 at 4:48pm

I'm fairly new to wood turning.  Most of the time I am just making small projects.  I'm trying to figure out which is best when working with a bowl blank that will be finished turned using the expanding jaws of a chuck.  Do you put a face place on the opposite end then cut the recess
for the chuck or put the bowl blank between centers and then cut the recess for the chuck.
« Last Edit: Aug 24th, 2014 at 4:48pm by Richard Wilabee »  

IP Logged

JimQuarles
WR Addict
WR Patron

WR Rocks, BIG Time!

Glendale, AZ, Arizona, USA
Glendale, AZ
Arizona
USA

Re: Best way to cut a recess for a chuck
Reply #1 - Aug 24th, 2014 at 5:04pm

I generally put the wood between centers and cut a tenon rather than a recess.

Mentor Basics, Pens, small stuff, Acrylics, EasyRougher.
Just Turnin' Around!  Glendale, AZ  Cool Cool

"Right now I'm having amnesia and deja vu at the same time.
I think I've forgotten this before." - Steven Wright

IP Logged

Jerry Marcantel
WR Supporter

WR Rocks!

Tucson, Arizona, Arizona, USA
Tucson, Arizona
Arizona
USA

Reply #2 - Aug 24th, 2014 at 5:05pm

Richard, you can use whatever works. Face plate, spur, chuck, friction plate in your chuck, or a Chuck Plate.... Jerry (in Tucson)

IP Logged

Don Stephan
WR Addict

WR Rocks!

Cincinnati, Ohio, Ohio, USA
Cincinnati, Ohio
Ohio
USA

Reply #3 - Aug 24th, 2014 at 7:19pm