WR Noob

WR Rocks!

NY, USA
NY
USA

New tuner here!
Mar 24th, 2016 at 1:56pm

Hey All,

I have been a woodworker for years and turned very little as a kid. Totally out of it. After doing a bunch of research and searching forums I have narrowed my set up to these choices. ANY final input would be great.

Learning a lot from videos online about tools and proper technique. A bit daunting but I am ready to buy. I know the tools and the chucks are very important. That said...

Chisels: Looking at a Crown or Sorby Starter set. Like the Crown 5 piece on Rockler or a 5 piece Sorby (Which is hard to find). I want these to last.

Sharpener: I will use my "work sharp". It look silly but it is GREAT for all my sharpening.

Chucks: This is a bit confusing. I want to start with small projects like ornaments, small bowls and others and then move up. I was looking at the Nova Infinity to start?

Lathe: On the fence here. I don't want to overbuy but I am between 2 lathes. Jet 1221vs and the Jet 1440. I love the swivel on the 1440 but that puppy is pretty big. On the other hand will I outgrow the 1221? Any experience with these machines would be appreciated.

Safety: Protection of course but also learning a lot prior to turning.

Looking forward to this. Smiley
Thanks in advance,
Ken

IP Logged

Register To Remove Ads
Ed Weber
WR Global Moderator
WR Patron

Wilton, California, USA
Wilton
California
USA

JET 1642
Grizzly G0584
Re: New tuner here!
Reply #1 - Mar 24th, 2016 at 2:54pm

Welcome Ken, you packed a lot of question into your first post.
The choices can be daunting as you said but if you could possibly narrow down  what you think you'll be turning and how much you want to spend.

You will no doubt get many responses on tool preference. While the gouges you mentioned are good quality, they have their disadvantages.
1. Neither set has a bowl gouge
2. Both sets are very small (short in length) This can be uncomfortable to use depending on you size and turning style.