Woodturner's Resource
Woodturner's Resource  
  • Featured Artist    • Websites   Support Wr
Tutorials, Projects & Tips   • Event Calendar   • Tool and Book Store
  Home Page Forum HelpSearch Map TPT Resources LoginRegister

Pages: 1 
Send Topic Print
Hi folks, new member with the usual newbie question... (Read 1,196 times)

Tom Bean
WR Noob

WR Rocks!

Hi folks, new member with the usual newbie question...
Jun 14th, 2016 at 6:53pm

I have gone through a bunch of the different questions and I didnt see this. I am new to woodturning and will be buying my starting gear. What I would like to find out is when you all got your first lathe what had you wished you had bought instead?In other words What should I be careful of in terms of size, length, brand , swing, etc. my budget is going to try and stay under $3000 or so.
Whenever I start something new I tend to buy stuff and then within 6 months really wish I had bought something slightly different. I would really like to,avoid that this time.
Any help is appreciated and I am still learning as is probably very obvious.  Thumbs Up
Thanks you guys in advance, I really appreciate it!

IP Logged

Register To Remove Ads
Donald Jordan

WR Rocks!

Tampa, Florida, USA
Tampa
Florida
USA

Nova 1624-44
Re: Hi folks, new member with the usual newbie question...
Reply #1 - Jun 15th, 2016 at 6:58am

Hi Tom,

Having done what you are trying to avoid, I would be happy to help! I'm sure you know that the lathe is a big investment. I went with a Jet 1220 w/ a 3/4 hp motor to start.  While this was a great lathe for pens, etc., I quickly found it was under powered and sized for larger bowls.. which I found I really enjoyed turning. I ended up selling it for half price after a year and bought a Nova 1624-44 and have never looked back. I suggest you find a turners club or visit a Woodcraft or similar store and compare. I believe the larger lathes hold their value longer than the smaller ones in my experience. Thumbs Up

IP Logged

Ed Weber