Home Page Forum HelpSearch Map TPT Resources LoginRegister

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
CA Finish issue (Read 977 times)

Kevin Campbell

WR Rocks!

CA Finish issue
Jul 31st, 2016 at 7:59pm

I have been turning for a few months, but only have a little free time. I've done about 15 pens, and about 25 rings. I do not love CA glue as a finish, but I have done ok with it. 2 out of the last 3 pens I have had the same problem. When sanding the finish, through the grits of micro mesh, I start getting black lines through the finish. I don't know if it's the glue, or the micro mesh. I've thought maybe my glue is old, although it's not very old at all. I wonder if the glue got hot during sanding, or if maybe the mm is breaking down. I got away from using activator, because I had a very nice pen that the finish shattered on. It looks like a broken windshield, all over the entire surface. I try to let each coat dry, then add another. After all coats are on, I let it turn to dry completely, before sanding. The latest pen never seemed to get beyond tacky. Any advice here would be appreciated. Thanks,

Kevin

IP Logged

Register To Remove Ads
Chris Neilan
WR Supporter

OUCH!

Waterford, Connecticut, USA
Waterford
Connecticut
USA

Powermatic 3520
Delta 46-460
Shopsmith 10 ER
Shopsmith Mark V
Shopsmith Mark 7 Powerpro
Re: CA Finish issue
Reply #1 - Jul 31st, 2016 at 9:24pm

CA glue is far form foolproof. Once you get it, however, it's easy. What type glue are you using? The first few coats i use thin, then might switch to medium. I never use thick. I also avoid the accelerator. When sanding with micromesh, you use it wet, right? (You should)

Delta 46-460: awesome
Powermatic 3520: more awesome!
Shopsmith Mark 7: Wonderful! (But I don't use it as a lathe yet)
Shopsmith Mark V
Shopsmith 10ER

IP Logged

Kevin Campbell

WR Rocks!

Reply #2 - Jul 31st, 2016 at 9:27pm

I use Stick Fast thin. I don't usually use it wet. I never really have.

IP Logged

Chris Neilan