Woodturner's Resource
Woodturner's Resource  
  • Featured Artist    • Websites   Support Wr
Tutorials, Projects & Tips   • Event Calendar   • Tool and Book Store
  Home Page Forum HelpSearch Map TPT Resources LoginRegister

Pages: 1 ... 4 5 6 7 
Send Topic Print
Lichtenberg Electric Etching (Read 10,220 times)

Grant Wilkinson
WR Addict

Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Ottawa
Ontario
Canada

Re: Lichtenberg Electric Etching
Reply #75 - Oct 19th, 2016 at 12:05pm

If the Allanson on Amazon will do the job, I don't see enough value added in the Conestoga kit, even for a US resident. The transformer on Amazon is $70 with free shipping in the US. Adding a foot pedal and probes would still keep it just over $100. I don't want to knock the Conestoga product. It looks very good. But, for me, I'd go the DIY route and make the transformer into a wood burning "machine".

As Rob points out, it's unlikely that anyone would use this on every piece they make. I'm a hobbyist. Much of my end product ends up in my friend's burn pile since I don't have the space to store very many. I can't justify big bucks. YMMV of course.

Grant Wilkinson
Ottawa ON

IP Logged

Arlin Eastman

Born in the USA

Council Bluffs, Iowa, USA
Council Bluffs
Iowa
USA

PM3520B
Reply #76 - Oct 19th, 2016 at 4:41pm

Grant

First I do not remember what a Jacobs ladder is.  Also I am not sure if you said mine will work or not.
Last do you have a link to the Amazon site please.

Thank you very much for your help

It is always the right time;  To do the right thing

IP Logged

Arlin Eastman

Born in the USA

Council Bluffs, Iowa, USA
Council Bluffs
Iowa
USA

PM3520B
Reply #77 - Oct 19th, 2016 at 5:01pm

Grant

Here are afew more I would like to know about and they do not mention about open or closed circuit.

Multimedia File Viewing and Clickable Links are available for Registered Members only!!  You need to Login or Register