Woodturner's Resource
Woodturner's Resource  
  • Featured Artist    • Websites   Support Wr
Tutorials, Projects & Tips   • Event Calendar   • Tool and Book Store
  Home Page Forum HelpSearch Map TPT Resources LoginRegister

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Greetings from the frozen north, Barrhead, Alberta (Read 330 times)

Jeff Hankinson
WR Noob

Hooked on turning!

Barrhead, Alberta, Canada
Barrhead
Alberta
Canada

Oneway 16-40
Greetings from the frozen north, Barrhead, Alberta
Feb 18th, 2017 at 2:55pm

I'm new to the forum. I've been turning for about three years, mostly vessels with a little spindle work thrown in for practice. There's not a lot of formal instruction locally so I'm largely self taught. I've made most of the mistakes I've heard of and expect to make some no one has heard of. I turn primarily birch, Manitoba maple ( a variety of box elder ), aspen and balsam poplar with a sprinkling of hardwoods like walnut for colour accent. I'm starting to incorporate segmented Turning into my learning curve as well as solid wood projects. The Beads of Courage type programs running in my area present a terrific opportunity to make a large variety of bowls, experimenting with different styles and techniques while providing a very worthwhile place to donate my work. I prefer dry wood turning as opposed to green wood. If I'm in a hurry I can dry a green blank in about three days (rather than waiting for years) in my vacuum kiln - yes three days, it's not a typo error. I figure years are too long to wait... if anyone has questions about vacuum kilns I can certainly try to answer them. Cheers, Jeff

"Gladly would he learn and gladly teach"
G. Chaucer, Canterbury Tales

IP Logged

Register To Remove Ads
Ed Weber
WR Global Moderator
WR Patron

Wilton, California, USA
Wilton
California
USA

JET 1642
Grizzly G0584
Re: Greetings from the frozen north, Barrhead, Alberta
Reply #1 - Feb 18th, 2017 at 3:06pm

Jeff Hankinson wrote on Feb 18th, 2017 at 2:55pm: