Send Topic Print
Which lathe!? (Read 813 times)

Bethanie Lyall
WR Noob

WR Rocks!

Which lathe!?
Mar 2nd, 2017 at 9:26pm

Hello all,

I am very new to woodturning, and this is my first post Smiley my name is Bethanie, and I live in Peterborough, Ontario. I am currently using a Busy Bee wood copy lathe, and it's in a bit of rough shape. The motor jumps around ALOT when something larger than a spindle is on it, unless you wedge some shims and bolts in. So, I have come across a 37inch (master craft I believe) lathe model 55-4507-2. Should I jump in and buy this one, or stick to my old busy bee lathe? I can't find too much on the web about either of these lathes. Thank you all so much in advance!

IP Logged

Len Mullin

WR Rocks!

Miramichi, New Brunswick, Canada
Miramichi
New Brunswick
Canada

Re: Which lathe!?
Reply #1 - Mar 2nd, 2017 at 11:23pm

Hello Bethanie, welcome to the site. Don't jump, it's not worth it. You will be buying something that works as poorly, as the one you are already using. Neither lathe is worth much, and I don't think you would be stepping up in quality. You would be better off, to just use the one you now own. And while you're using it, start saving up your money for a good quality lathe.
Len
« Last Edit: Mar 2nd, 2017 at 11:24pm by Len Mullin »  

IP Logged

Bethanie Lyall
WR Noob

WR Rocks!

Reply #2 - Mar 3rd, 2017 at 6:52am

Hi Len, thank you so much for the welcome and for the reply. I really appreciate it. At this point, I don't know too much about types of lathes, and I feel as though each turner has their favourite. Are there a few lathes that I should keep my eye out for? Thank you again!

IP Logged

Glenn Matthies

WR Rocks!

Lockport, NY, New York, USA
Lockport, NY
New York
USA

Jet 1642 EVS 2 hp
Reply #3 - Mar 3rd, 2017 at 7:51am