WR Noob

WR Rocks!

London, United Kingdom
London
United Kingdom

Where to start?
Apr 13th, 2017 at 4:10pm

Hi,

I am a complete beginner, and not sure what to buy to start off with.  Most of the lathes I see on auction sites don't have chucks, for example.

Any recommendations on what I should look out for, and is £300 enough to get a decent enough lathe with everything I need to get started or should I save a little more?

Thank you,

Mark

IP Logged

Don Stephan
WR Addict

WR Rocks!

Cincinnati, Ohio, Ohio, USA
Cincinnati, Ohio
Ohio
USA

Re: Where to start?
Reply #1 - Apr 13th, 2017 at 7:09pm

A great first stop for a new turner can be a local or regional turning group.  Often you can see in action several different sizes and makes, and perhaps get a few minutes on different ones as a test drive.

If you are looking at used lathes (auction sites) you want to find out if the lathes take a morse taper (and if so which diameter) and the size and thread of the drive and tailstock spindles.  Here in the states the spindle size and thread might be 1.25"x8 as one example.  Chuck manufacturers often offer spindle adapters that match up a particular spindle size and thread count with the internal threads of the chuck.

IP Logged

Guy Bratt
WR Addict

WR Rocks!

Richmond, Michigan, USA
Richmond
Michigan
USA

Robust American Beauty
Rikon 70-100
Reply #2 - Apr 13th, 2017 at 11:12pm

Hi Mark.  Welcome to the vortex.
You don't need a chuck to start.  A face plate that threads on to your spindle will work.  You'll learn to attach waste blocks to the face plate then attach your blank to that.
A #2 Morse taper is popular as an M33 spindle.
That's a start.
Guy

Old, Fat,n Ugly...I shed 100 pounds this year.  Still old.  Still ugly. But what can you do at this age?
You know? If you knew me you'd see my avatar and I really look a lot alike.

IP Logged

Len Mullin

WR Rocks!

Miramichi, New Brunswick, Canada
Miramichi
New Brunswick
Canada

Reply #3 - Apr 16th, 2017 at 12:17am