Featured Artist    Websites   Support Wr
Tutorials, Projects & Tips   Event Calendar   Tool and Book Store
  Home Page Forum HelpSearch Map TPT Resources LoginRegister

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Grain direction? (Read 435 times)

George Stratton

WR Rocks!

Old Delta 12" 46-701 in great condition. Had it about 20+ years and turned 1 part.
Grain direction?
May 30th, 2017 at 11:55am

This has probably been answered many times before but i'm very new at this and looking for info. If I were to cut a bowel blank from a round tree log say 6x6x2" thick. Do you slice off a 2" thick slab and then cut the 6x6 away from the center of the tree? or do you slice a 6" thick slab and cut the 2" vertically with the grain. The grain direction will be 90 deg. different in each case. Which way is best in turning wood?

IP Logged

Register To Remove Ads
Ed Weber
WR Global Moderator
WR Patron

Wilton, California, USA
Wilton
California
USA

JET 1642
Grizzly G0584
Re: Grain direction?
Reply #1 - May 30th, 2017 at 12:08pm

Here is an article that may help you visualize how you want/need to cut your wood to get the grain in the desired direction.
Multimedia File Viewing and Clickable Links are available for Registered Members only!!  You need to Login or Register

IP Logged

George Stratton

WR Rocks!

Old Delta 12" 46-701 in great condition. Had it about 20+ years and turned 1 part.
Reply #2 - May 30th, 2017 at 1:10pm

Thanks so much on that Ed. I'll save the article for reference
Geo.

IP Logged

Don Stephan
WR Addict

WR Rocks!

Cincinnati, Ohio, Ohio, USA
Cincinnati, Ohio
Ohio
USA

Reply #3 - May 30th, 2017 at 7:02pm

I imagine I'm not the only one with that in my files.

IP Logged

John Cepko

WR Rocks!

Pasadena, Maryland, USA
Pasadena
Maryland
USA

Reply #4 - Jul 3rd, 2017 at 6:01pm

Don Stephan wrote on May 30th, 2017 at 7:02pm:
I imagine I'm not the only one with that in my files.

You're not.
But, there might be only the two of us.

IP Logged

Dwight Rutherford