Send Topic Print
expansion chuck (Read 739 times)

jimmy russell
WR Noob

WR Rocks!

central machinery 10 x 18
expansion chuck
Aug 17th, 2017 at 9:47am

hey gang...i am extremely new at this..im a us citizen living in tampico mexico...i recently got into woodturning and unfortunatley where I live there are no supplies or woodturners nearby.  therefore I will be relying a lot on this forum.  I bought a Central Machinery 10 x 18 and I was wondering which expansion chuck would be the best.  It has a MT-2 taper..any help would be greatly appreciated...thx

IP Logged

Ed Weber
WR Administrator
WR Patron

Wilton, California, USA
Wilton
California
USA

JET 1642
Grizzly G0584
Re: expansion chuck
Reply #1 - Aug 17th, 2017 at 10:18am

Welcome to the Forum jimmy
We could probably help you a little better if you tell us what you are turning or plan on turning

IP Logged

jimmy russell
WR Noob

WR Rocks!

Reply #2 - Aug 17th, 2017 at 10:34am

well...i was hoping to eventually be able to do bowls.or any thing i need to hollow out...thus the reason for the chuck...right now im just learning the tools and getting the feel for everything..

IP Logged

Glenn Jacobs
WR Addict

JC L&S

North DFW, Texas, Texas, USA
North DFW, Texas
Texas
USA

Powermatic 3520C
Reply #3 - Aug 17th, 2017 at 1:30pm

most any 4 jaw scroll chuck that fits you lathe will work.

Welcome to the club!

Glenn J.

Woodworking all my life. Turning since ~93
Glenn+J  
IP Logged

jimmy russell
WR Noob

WR Rocks!

Reply #4 - Aug 17th, 2017 at 1:43pm

thanx for the reply..what I need is a model and part number...I am in Mexico and dont have the luxury of taking it back if it doesnt work...My biggest worry is that it has same  threads as the shaft on the headstock..the size and thread doesnt come in the manual..therefore I was hoping someone might know which I need to buy...thx again

IP Logged

David Hill

Using all Texas woods
but prefer Mesquite

Cuero, Texas, USA
Cuero
Texas
USA

Nova 1624
Laguna 18/47