Send Topic Print
Game call mandrel (Read 210 times)

Carter Wireman
WR Noob

WR Rocks!

8x12 table top
Game call mandrel
Sep 8th, 2017 at 7:23pm

Hello I am very green to turning, in fact just ordered my first lathe a WEN 8x12. I am wanting to turn game calls mostly. My lathe comes with a MT1, what will I need to use to hold a expandable mandrel? A drill chick or collet chuck or can I simply install it into my head? Like I said I'm new to this so be easy on me lol

IP Logged

Len Mullin

WR Rocks!

Miramichi, New Brunswick, Canada
Miramichi
New Brunswick
Canada

Re: Game call mandrel
Reply #1 - Sep 8th, 2017 at 10:06pm

You will need a #1 morse taper end for the mandrel to fit into. I would like to suggest, that you watch some you-tube videos on all turning subjects. You can learn a lot off of the videos, but not all that you'll see is safe. If possible, try to find a turning club or group of fellow turners that you can learn off of.
Len

IP Logged

Tony Rozendaal
WR Patron

WR Rocks!

East Troy, WI, Wisconsin, USA
East Troy, WI
Wisconsin
USA

Reply #2 - Sep 9th, 2017 at 8:24am

Multimedia File Viewing and Clickable Links are available for Registered Members only!!  You need to Login or Register

I have this expandable bushing setup - I'm not that crazy about it as it doesn't always center the blank that well. It is a good way to get started.

One alternative is to turn your own mandrel out of a good dense hardwood - you could even turn your own MT1 on one end of it or thread it to drive off the threads on your headstock.

Another alternative is to use a pen mandrel and then turn your own bushings out of hardwood. The challenge there is to true the end of the blank after you drill it, or, to make sure you drill it nice and square to the ends of the blank. Multimedia File Viewing and Clickable Links are available for Registered Members only!!  You need to Login or Register

Disclaimer: I do not make a lot of calls and do not consider myself an expert.

Good luck!