Woodturner's Resource
Woodturner's Resource  
  • Featured Artist    • Websites   Support Wr
Tutorials, Projects & Tips   • Event Calendar   • Tool and Book Store
  Home Page Forum HelpSearch Map TPT Resources LoginRegister

Pages: 1 2 
Send Topic Print
What do I need to sharpen without a grinder? (Read 399 times)

Matthew Gingerich
WR Noob

A stopped clock never
boils.

I'm completely new to woodturning. I made my own lathe, which I'll be using until I save up for a real one.
What do I need to sharpen without a grinder?
Sep 12th, 2017 at 6:55pm

I just got my first set of lathe tools and I'm looking for a way to sharpen them. I have 2 spindle gouges, a parting tool, a skew, and a scraper. They all seem to have an okay grind out of the box, which is good because I don't want to drop $200 for a bench grinder.

I'd like to learn to sharpen them the old fashioned way with a flat stone and a leather strop. But what kind of stone do I need? I looked at oil-stones, water-stones, diamond stones, slipstones of various shapes, but I'm not sure what I need in what combination. For example, will a flat oil-stone and a piece of leather be all I need? Or do I need a slip-stone as well in order to sharpen the inside of the gouge? Thanks for any advice!

--Matt

IP Logged

Don Stephan
WR Addict

WR Rocks!

Cincinnati, Ohio, Ohio, USA
Cincinnati, Ohio
Ohio
USA

Re: What do I need to sharpen without a grinder?
Reply #1 - Sep 12th, 2017 at 7:46pm

Matt

It's possible, maybe even likely, that the old fashioned way to sharpen lathe tools was with a foot powered grinding wheel.

Think of how many lineal feet of wood a wood chisel goes through when chopping dovetails for 20 minutes, versus how many lineal feel of wood a spindle or bowl gouge goes through in 20 minutes.  The wood chisel is not continuously cutting wood, but the gouge is.  It is not uncommon to sharpen a lathe tool after every few minutes of use to get acceptable quality of cut.