Woodturner's Resource
Woodturner's Resource  
  Featured Artist    Websites   Support Wr
Tutorials, Projects & Tips   Event Calendar   Tool and Book Store
  Home Page Forum HelpSearch Map TPT Resources LoginRegister

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Do I need breathing protection? (Read 249 times)

Matthew Gingerich
WR Noob

A stopped clock never
boils.

I'm completely new to woodturning. I made my own lathe, which I'll be using until I save up for a real one.
Do I need breathing protection?
Sep 14th, 2017 at 10:37pm

I'm just starting turning and I've been wondering about breathing protection-- when is it necessary? It seems to me that some turners use dust masks, some have respirators, and most don't have anything at all. I'm a beginner, so I won't be using any crazy chemicals right away, but I'll probably be doing a lot of sanding to fix my screwups. Could someone familiar with the different types of masks give me some pointers? Thanks!
« Last Edit: Sep 14th, 2017 at 10:38pm by Matthew Gingerich »  

IP Logged

David Gilliland
WR Noob

WR Rocks!

JET 1221vs
Re: Do I need breathing protection?
Reply #1 - Sep 15th, 2017 at 1:36am

I'm no pro, and I'm sure others will weigh in, but to me the more breathing protection you have, the better. Some people have fancy dust collection systems and don't need to wear as much protection. My shop is in a tiny unventilated shed, so I try to have my respirator on pretty much any time I'm turning, and certainly whenever I'm sanding. Breathing lots of wood dust, especially over time, is no bueno.

IP Logged

Jurriaan Kalkman

just below the middle, Netherlands
just below the middle
Netherlands

Reply #2 - Sep 15th, 2017 at 2:17am

You have a finite number of lungs, right?

That should be all the answer you need.

I wear one (a respirated face mask) whenever I'm sanding, combined with a dust extractor. Not when I'm turning green wood, and sometimes when I'm turning relatively dusty dry woods.

Well, I'm a Dutchman!