Woodturner's Resource
Woodturner's Resource  
  • Featured Artist    • Websites   Support Wr
Tutorials, Projects & Tips   • Event Calendar   • Tool and Book Store
  Home Page Forum HelpSearch Map TPT Resources LoginRegister

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
What tools can be used on end grain? (Read 649 times)

Matthew Gingerich
WR Noob

A stopped clock never
boils.

I'm completely new to woodturning. I made my own lathe, which I'll be using until I save up for a real one.
What tools can be used on end grain?
Sep 15th, 2017 at 2:16pm

My toolset does not include a bowl gouge, but I'd like to be able to make small cups and bowls and such. Which tools are okay to use to on the end grain? I already know not to use a spindle roughing gouge, but what about scrapers and detail/spindle gouges?

IP Logged

Don Stephan
WR Addict

WR Rocks!

Cincinnati, Ohio, Ohio, USA
Cincinnati, Ohio
Ohio
USA

Re: What tools can be used on end grain?
Reply #1 - Sep 15th, 2017 at 6:52pm

One can hollow out a not excessively deep bowl just with scrapers.   Our own Robo Hippy has a Youtube video showing how he does this.  Often I use a "wide and thick" (i.e. "heavy") scraper (with different end radii) flat on the tool rest for final shaping of the inside bottom of a bowl, and scrapers with a slightly different shape rotated up on the bottom left edge to "shear scrape" away tool marks and tiny bumps in the transition and (very light cuts) on the inside side of bowls.

Like spindle roughing gouges, spindle, detail, and spindle detail gouges are not considered safe on the inside of a bowl - there is a risk of the tool breaking under the force exerted on it.