Send Topic Print
Hollowing Woes (Read 253 times)

Chip Clark
WR Noob

WR Rocks!

Rikon 105-70
Hollowing Woes
Oct 23rd, 2017 at 11:40am

I'm new at turning and having a real challenge with hollowing. If i use anything but a bowl gouge it takes a huge amount of time. If i use a bowl gouge - no matter how careful i am it usually catches and either takes out huge chunks or I've had the bowl actually break apart. Can anyone recommend maybe a tutorial out there somewhere?

IP Logged

Register To Remove Ads
Glenn Jacobs
WR Supporter

JC L&S

North DFW, Texas, USA
North DFW
Texas
USA

Re: Hollowing Woes
Reply #1 - Oct 23rd, 2017 at 1:03pm

watch any of the videos on the tips section. Bob Hamilton was very good at showing how to do bowls.

Be sure your tools are sharp!

Glenn J.

IP Logged

Grant Wilkinson
WR Supporter

Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Ottawa
Ontario
Canada

Reply #2 - Oct 23rd, 2017 at 1:11pm

Chip: Are your problems with hollowing or with turning the inside of bowls - or both?

Grant Wilkinson
Ottawa ON

IP Logged

Chip Clark
WR Noob

WR Rocks!

Rikon 105-70
Reply #3 - Oct 23rd, 2017 at 5:06pm

Grant Wilkinson wrote on Oct 23rd, 2017 at 1:11pm:
Chip: Are your problems with hollowing or with turning the inside of bowls - or both?

Grant - by hollowing i meant turning the inside of the bowl. I have no problems on the outside.

Glen - thanks I'll check those videos.

IP Logged

Mike Mills
WR Addict

Reply #4 - Oct 23rd, 2017 at 7:06pm

In addition to the videos in the tips section.
Here is one by Brendan Stemp. It is two parts, one on the outside and one on the inside.
Multimedia File Viewing and Clickable Links are available for Registered Members only!!  You need to Login or Register
Richard Raffan shows some causes in this video, the first half is on the skew and the second half is on bowls (about 12 minutes long total).
Multimedia File Viewing and Clickable Links are available for Registered Members only!!  You need to Login or Register