Woodturner's Resource
Woodturner's Resource  
  • Featured Artist    • Websites   Support Wr
Tutorials, Projects & Tips   • Event Calendar   • Tool and Book Store
  Home Page Forum HelpSearch Map TPT Resources LoginRegister

Pages: 1 2 
Send Topic Print
Why did you start turning wood? (Read 1,314 times)
Ron Sardo
WR Administrator
WR Patron

Chief cook and bottle
washer

Drums, Pennsylvania, USA
Drums
Pennsylvania
USA

PM 3520
Why did you start turning wood?
Oct 30th, 2017 at 8:06am

QOTW:Why did you start turning wood?

Being a flat woodworker I hadn't considered becoming a woodturner. I was making a dropleaf table with draws on the short sides and I couldn't find knobs that looked good. The white porcelain, glass or metal ones looked horrible and I couldn't find wooden ones of the same species that had the color or correct grain direction that I was looking for. I had jokingly mentioned to my wife I needed a lathe to make my own and she chuckled.

A few months later it was Christmas and my daughters had gifted me a set of Sorby woodturning tools. I figured they didn't realize what the tools were for and not wanting to disappoint them I said that they were a wonderful gift and thanked the for them. They giggled when they walked away the way only young sisters can.

A few hours later my wife needed something to be put together and I needed a screwdriver. So I went down into my shop and nearly tripped over a box. Inside the box was a new Jet 1236 lathe.

They got me!

I didn't put the lathe together until summer when I found another turner to give me lessons and how to sharpen my tools.

There was no turning back.

Multimedia File Viewing and Clickable Links are available for Registered Members only!!  You need to Login or Register
IP Logged

Cliff De Witt
WR Addict

DeSoto, TX, Texas, USA
DeSoto, TX
Texas
USA

Re: Why did you start turning wood?
Reply #1 - Oct 30th, 2017 at 10:46am

I started in pottery in High School, turned bowls and urns for YEARS.