Home Page Forum HelpSearch Map TPT Resources LoginRegister

Pages: 1 2 
Send Topic Print
Crack filling (Read 3,073 times)

Bruce Kamp

WR Rocks!

Re: Crack filling
Reply #15 - Dec 10th, 2017 at 11:31am

Had some success. Here is a pic of a rough piece of the white oak I am working with. I used brown sand and epoxy to fill a crack. This shows two different mixes. One on left is just brown sand the other is a mix of light brown and brown sand and epoxy.
I also applied a coat of natural colored Danish oil.
Of course, not an eaxact match because of the grain, etc. Hoever, I do think it does a decent job of blending.

IP Logged

Bruce Kamp

WR Rocks!

Reply #16 - Dec 10th, 2017 at 11:32am

This is what I used.

IP Logged

Daniel Hayes

WR Rocks!

Conroe, Texas, USA
Conroe
Texas
USA

Laguna Revo 1836
Reply #17 - Dec 10th, 2017 at 1:09pm

Wouldn't sawdust be easier on your tools?  I'm very new at this whole woodworking thing but this seems odd.
« Last Edit: Dec 10th, 2017 at 1:11pm by Daniel Hayes »  

IP Logged

Glenn Roberts

WR Rocks!

Walworth, NY, New York, USA
Walworth, NY
New York
USA

Reply #18 - Dec 10th, 2017 at 7:16pm

Sand?

The older I get, the better I was........
IP Logged

Bruce Kamp

WR Rocks!

Reply #19 - Dec 10th, 2017 at 8:38pm

It is synthetic sand. Not as hard on the tools.
Sawdust does not give the same effect. Al least the times I have tried it.
For the initial smoothing I will sand it, not turn it. I will rough turn, fill void, sand then fine turn.
I have also been trying some of the colors for special effects. I will show some pics when get a more finished piece.

IP Logged

Bruce Kamp

WR Rocks!

Reply #20 - Dec 24th, 2017 at 2:25pm