WR Rocks!

Independence, Missouri, USA
Independence
Missouri
USA

10 x 18 harbor freight wood lathe 
Gluing blanks
Feb 17th, 2018 at 8:47am

I am starting my first protect on my lathe. My of a lack of c clamps has stopped me from making my first blank. so i have to use a 4 x 4 blank of ceder and a face plate. i plane to make a cup.

should i glue it to another piece of wood or just go for it?

I saw a guy in a video use Tesa double sided tape to put a blank and another piece of wood together. Has anyone else done this?

IP Logged

George Stratton

WR Rocks!

Old Delta 12" 46-701 in great condition. Had it about 20+ years and turned 1 part.
Re: Gluing blanks
Reply #1 - Feb 17th, 2018 at 9:44am

I'm pretty new at this too Michael but from what I have learned on this forum, I would put a longer piece of that cedar between centers and practice turning spindle shapes to learn to use the tools before trying any cups or bowls. I built an entire spinning wheel unit which is mostly spindle work before I attempted a small bowl. JMO

IP Logged

John Cepko

WR Rocks!

Pasadena, Maryland, USA
Pasadena
Maryland
USA

Reply #2 - Feb 17th, 2018 at 11:23am

Do you have a chuck for the lathe?
If so, between centers long enough to turn a tenon to grab with the chuck.
For my money, glue blocks can be unsafe if not applied 100% correctly. A new turner is going to have some spectacular catches, and a glue block is the weak link.
If your blank is square, find a way to knock the edges and corners off, saves a lot of time, and wear and tear on man and equipment.
Rub the bevel, and raise the handle until it begins to cut, Simple to say, execution is sometimes the problem.

IP Logged

Grant Wilkinson
WR Addict

Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Ottawa
Ontario
Canada

Reply #3 - Feb 17th, 2018 at 12:01pm