Woodturner's Resource
Woodturner's Resource  
  • Featured Artist    • Websites   Support Wr
Tutorials, Projects & Tips   • Event Calendar   • Tool and Book Store
  Home Page Forum HelpSearch Map TPT Resources LoginRegister

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Harbor Freight 12x36 Hand Wheel (Read 434 times)

Daniel Hayes

WR Rocks!

Spring, Texas, USA
Spring
Texas
USA

Harbor Freight
Harbor Freight 12x36 Hand Wheel
Feb 20th, 2018 at 5:11pm

I know this is a very limited audience for this post but someone might benefit.
I have been using the #34706 lathe (my first lathe) since April 2017 and have wished it had a hand wheel.  Through lots of searches I found that the Jet 1236 wheel would fit but it is basically 25% of the cost of the lathe. So I decided to just try to make one out of wood.  The first one was the wheel and then I decided to try a different design and made the handle type.  I prefer the handle type by far.

IP Logged

Len Mullin

WR Rocks!

Miramichi, New Brunswick, Canada
Miramichi
New Brunswick
Canada

Re: Harbor Freight 12x36 Hand Wheel
Reply #1 - Feb 20th, 2018 at 11:55pm

Daniel, what type of wood did you use, to make your wheel and handle out of? Did you use soft or hard wood?
Len

IP Logged

Daniel Hayes

WR Rocks!

Spring, Texas, USA
Spring
Texas
USA

Harbor Freight
Reply #2 - Feb 21st, 2018 at 10:07am

The round wheel is just a piece of pine 2x6.  The handle is an unknown wood from a box of hardwood cutoffs I bought on Amazon.  For the spindles I used more of some unknown hardwood.  I just turned them to 1/2" and then slightly tapered the end to get started in the hole and used a wrench to thread the spindle.  They won't last forever taking them in and out to access the knockout hole but the price was right and they serve a purpose.

IP Logged

Glenn Matthies

WR Rocks!

Lockport, NY, New York, USA
Lockport, NY
New York
USA

Jet 1642 EVS 2 hp
Reply #3 - Feb 21st, 2018 at 11:19am