HSS versus Carbide (Read 1,074 times)

Malcolm Randolph
WR Noob

WR Rocks!

New Limerick, Maine, USA
New Limerick
Maine
USA

Old craftsman, single barrel bed.  It's a model 113228162 CRAFTSMAN WOOD LATHE.  Bought it for $50. and have spent 10 times that in chucks, chisels, etc.  Have made some  pretty nifty things on it.
HSS versus Carbide
Feb 26th, 2018 at 6:39am

Sooo....

While not necessarily green to turning, I am green to turning correctly and well.  I am self taught, and with the advent of the internet, YouTube and other WWW venues I have gleaned a lot of advice.  Some good, some not so good.  Such is life.

With retirement, and a new old lathe, and the original chisels that came with the purchase I began to turn.  This led to the purchase of a Work Sharp system (love it), then to the purchase of some new HSS chisels (love them), then to the purchase of a set of mini carbide tips (oh my!), and last (not least nor the end I'm sure) three full size carbides.

My question, if there is one, is what are thoughts out there with you seasoned turners about carbide tipped tool?  HSS?  Pros and cons?  Am I 'cheating' using carbide?  What am I losing by not using HSS?

I searched the forum for "carbide" and got no hits, and will be very surprised if this is the first broach to this topic!

All thoughts and comments welcome!

IP Logged

Chris Neilan
WR Addict

OUCH!

Waterford, Connecticut, USA
Waterford
Connecticut
USA

Powermatic 3520
Delta 46-460
Shopsmith 10 ER
Shopsmith Mark V
Shopsmith Mark 7 Powerpro
Re: HSS versus Carbide
Reply #1 - Feb 26th, 2018 at 7:24am

Carbide has it’s place right up there with high speed steel. Definately not cheating. The final piece is what counts, not what piece of metal you stabbed into it.  I personally use both. For some reason i prefer carbide for hollowing, and HSS for the outside of a vessel... go figure

Delta 46-460: awesome
Powermatic 3520: more awesome!
Shopsmith Mark 7: Wonderful! (But I don't use it as a lathe yet)