Woodturner's Resource
Woodturner's Resource  
  Featured Artist    Websites   Support Wr
Tutorials, Projects & Tips   Event Calendar   Tool and Book Store
  Home Page Forum HelpSearch Map TPT Resources LoginRegister

Pages: 1 2 3 
Send Topic Print
where does everyone sell online? (Read 1,861 times)

chris lawrence

WR Rocks!

JACKSON, New Jersey, USA
JACKSON
New Jersey
USA

where does everyone sell online?
Mar 21st, 2018 at 9:08pm

Does anyone here sell online anymore?  I have been doing the Etsy thing for a few years but not only is it getting over saturated with turners its now getting saturated with ridiculously low priced items.  I am limited on the weekends i can do craft shows as this is a second job for me so selling online is the most practical option but Etsy is getting rough.  Some are selling things for close to what i pay for the wood.  Is there any other online market that is like what Etsy used to be?

Multimedia File Viewing and Clickable Links are available for Registered Members only!!  You need to Login or Register
WWW Black-Label-Woodworks-1706061859611577  
IP Logged

Register To Remove Ads
Ed Weber
WR Administrator
WR Patron

Wilton, California, USA
Wilton
California
USA

JET 1642
Grizzly G0584
Re: where does everyone sell online?
Reply #1 - Mar 22nd, 2018 at 9:21am

chris lawrence wrote on Mar 21st, 2018 at 9:08pm:
Some are selling things for close to what i pay for the wood.

I've seen this as well and you need to ignore it.
I know it's easy to say but you need to give the customers a reason to buy your products not theirs.
Better description
Better photo
Better turning
Better finish
The list goes on
There should be a distinct difference as to why your piece costs more, you need to convey that to the potential customer.

Websites like ETSY and craft fairs will always have dog dishes for sale, it's in their interest to sell anything they can. For them it doesn't matter what you sell, as long as you sell.