Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Wrist pain (Read 680 times)

Katie Lester
WR Noob

WR Rocks!

Wrist pain
Sep 12th, 2018 at 6:48pm

Hey everyone. Im new to turning. Like really new. So I had a question that I wanted to ask because maybe its common with an easy fix. I noticed that Im having pain in one of my wrists after turning. I feel comfortable when i am holding my tool. Has anyone else experienced this issue when they first started? Did it go eventually or did you do something to make it not hurt?

IP Logged

Robert Hayward
WR Addict

WR Rocks!

Tampa area, Florida, USA
Tampa area
Florida
USA

3520b
Re: Wrist pain
Reply #1 - Sep 12th, 2018 at 7:03pm

I do not have any real answers for you but would like to welcome you to the symptoms of arthritis. Not at all pleasant and I am sure you are not deserving of it. Some days will be better than others and if it is arthritis there is not a lot that can be done for it.

IP Logged

Katie Lester
WR Noob

WR Rocks!

Reply #2 - Sep 12th, 2018 at 7:04pm

Dont go jynxing me... Im only 28. Lol

IP Logged

Leo De Bruin

Turning pro as soon as
I retire

Kitwanga, BC, Canada, Canada
Kitwanga, BC, Canada
Canada

Reply #3 - Sep 12th, 2018 at 7:23pm

Katie - welcome to the Vortex!  LOL

I would suggest that perhaps you have a death grip on your tools and that your wrist is getting sore from that. Some novices I have had in my shop have a death grip on their tools as they are worried about catches and an accident happening. Totally understandable

If you are really new to turning I would REALLY suggest finding an experienced mentor or a turning guild that would help you to turn in the correct manner safely,ie correct tools for the job, cutting angles, sharpening, etc.

Good luck with your new venture!

IP Logged

Allan Miller

WR Rocks!

Eclectic, Alabama, USA
Eclectic
Alabama
USA

Laguna Revo 18x36
Reply #4 - Sep 13th, 2018 at 7:24am