Woodturner's Resource
Woodturner's Resource  
  • Featured Artist    • Websites   Support Wr
Tutorials, Projects & Tips   • Event Calendar   • Tool and Book Store
  Home Page Forum HelpSearch Map TPT Resources LoginRegister

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
The Noble art of drying wood. (Read 519 times)

Boerje Ekstrand
WR Noob

WR Rocks!

Bullet Creek TN, Tennessee, USA
Bullet Creek TN
Tennessee
USA

Grizzly G 0766
The Noble art of drying wood.
Feb 1st, 2019 at 11:56am

I have been turning for a couple of years and now I'm trying to build a kiln out of my old shed. My idea is to seal it from in/outgoing air and then use a dehumidifier in combination with one or more fans.
Does anybody here have experience with this way of drying wood?
I surely would appreciate any tips or ideas.
BJ Ekstrand.

Bulletcreekcreations  
IP Logged

Register To Remove Ads
Jennifer Hasan

WR Rocks!

Beacon, ny, New York, USA
Beacon, ny
New York
USA

Re: The Noble art of drying wood.
Reply #1 - Feb 3rd, 2019 at 11:50am

An arborist friend of mine has a huge Shelter Logic garage in which he dries wood. He uses dehumidifiers and fans. Nothing fancy but it works. He said the key was to slowly reduce the humidity in batches.
« Last Edit: Feb 3rd, 2019 at 11:50am by Jennifer Hasan »  

IP Logged

Ed Weber
WR Administrator
WR Patron

Wilton, California, USA
Wilton
California
USA

JET 1642
Grizzly G0584
Reply #2 - Feb 3rd, 2019 at 2:33pm

Boerje Ekstrand wrote on Feb 1st, 2019 at 11:56am:
My idea is to seal it from in/outgoing air and then use a dehumidifier in combination with one or more fans.

you can not expect the air to dry in a sealed enclosure.
The idea is to remove the moisture, therefore it must be allowed to leave the enclosed space. This can happen in several ways, water from a dehumidifiers drip pan, allowed to leave passively or forced out by means of a fan.

There is a lot of information out there on this subject, not all is good.
A couple of things to consider.