Linden
Michigan
USA

CONOVER 15 x Infinity
NOVA Comet 10 x 16
Delta 1440 (converted to VSR)
A "thread" for casting
Oct 31st, 2019 at 3:42pm

I have been doing long-arm quilting for SWMBO for 16 yrs and now have a box of thread clippings which I would like to capture in resin. They make a firm brick about 12"x 3"x 4". Can I make a ply box and pour? This is a one off so vacuum or pressure are not cost effective. The threads should saturate but any ideas on air bubbles, etc.? I only get one go so am feeling very cautious.

There are psychopaths and sociopaths - I'm a neuropath.

IP Logged

Register To Remove Ads
Glenn Roberts

WR Rocks!

Walworth, NY, New York, USA
Walworth, NY
New York
USA

Re: A "thread" for casting
Reply #1 - Nov 1st, 2019 at 6:26am

Dave, not being as talented as most here, I practice as much as possible before tackling the "no turning back (!)" project. For instance, is it possible to cast other thread scraps to practice getting the bubbles out trapped by the threads? Maybe by vibration, heat, stirring technique, vacuum, etc.

The older I get, the better I was........
IP Logged

Grant Wilkinson
WR Addict

Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Ottawa
Ontario
Canada

Reply #2 - Nov 1st, 2019 at 8:37am

I've not cast thread, but I have cast hair, feathers, shredded currency, and other filament-type products. I don't think there is any way to get a bubble-free blank with these types of materials without pressure. I've used alumilite mostly, but also crystal clear and a couple of others whose names I forget. Because of all the small trapped air spaces in filament blanks, they all bubble without pressure.

What are you going to do with the blank? A blank that size brings with it many issues that smaller blanks do not. If you plan to cut it into smaller blanks, it may be wiser pour it smaller to begin with.

Grant Wilkinson
Ottawa ON

IP Logged

Ralph Fahringer
WR Addict

I'm the "Burly" Man!!

Ellsworth, Maine, USA
Ellsworth
Maine
USA

PM3520b