WR Addict

WR Rocks!

St. Paul, MN, Minnesota, USA
St. Paul, MN
Minnesota
USA

ring press
Mar 1st, 2020 at 10:37am

I have glued up a bunch of segmented rings to make beads of courage boxes.  I am debating what to use as a 'press' to glue them up.  I'm a weekend woodworker and my garage/shop is cold if I'm not working out there so long gluing processes are difficult.  What would be the best way to glue up the rings?  I see others using the lathe, drill presses, home made presses and just weights.  I suppose a few clamps would be an option too.  What do you think would work best for me?  Also, the boxes are around 6 inches in diameter and about 5 inches high.  Should I turn the inside as I go?  I think I can reach into a box of this size to do the turning after they are all glued up but I haven't made one before so I'm looking for some advice.

IP Logged

Register To Remove Ads
Ed Weber
WR Administrator
WR Patron

Wilton, California, USA
Wilton
California
USA

JET 1642
Grizzly G0584
Re: ring press
Reply #1 - Mar 1st, 2020 at 11:26am

If the faces of all the rings are flat and smooth, glue up as many as you feel comfortable with.
Rings can tend to slide around when being glued causing misalignment so you do need to be careful.
It only takes about an hour or so for standard PVA (titebond) type glues, to set enough to be handled. If you have any type of small clamp, you can clamp the rings up in pairs, then in groups of four or add one ring at a time. Once done let the whole piece cure overnight.

If you do want to turn the inside a ring at a time or at least rough it out. I would glue a ring, wait 2 hours the round out the inside by plunging a parting tool straight in to round the inside wall. Trying to rough out using a bowl gouge or anything else coming from the inside is too rough and adds unnecessary vibration and stress to the glue joints (and the turner).
You don't need to make a ring press, especially if this isn't something you plan on doing very often.