Send Topic Print
Which table saw blade (Read 415 times)

Robert Evans

WR Rocks!

HOSCHTON, Georgia
HOSCHTON
Georgia

Grizzly G0766
Rockwell Delta 46-111  (retired to buffing duties)
Which table saw blade
Jun 2nd, 2020 at 12:10pm

I'm still learning all the techniques of segmented turning.   I'm still getting more tearout on my segments than I want.  I spend a lot of time sanding all the fuzzies off the segments prior to gluing.   I'm using the Wedgie Sled and the table saw.  What table saw blades are best for minimizing tearout on small segments?  I don't mind spending money on the right tool.

IP Logged

Register To Remove Ads
Chris Brock

WR Rocks!

Long Island, New York, USA
Long Island
New York
USA

NOVA DVR
Re: Which table saw blade
Reply #1 - Jun 2nd, 2020 at 12:57pm

Does your sled support the piece on both sides of the blade? If your sled is only on one side of the blade, the piece you cut off is unsupported. While you can improve the situation with a high tooth count blade, I think the unsupported side of the cut will almost always have some tear-out.

Just my 2 cents.

IP Logged

Ed Weber
WR Administrator
WR Patron

Wilton, California, USA
Wilton
California
USA

JET 1642
Grizzly G0584
Reply #2 - Jun 2nd, 2020 at 1:00pm

We are currently having this same discussion at the Segmented Woodturners website.
Multimedia File Viewing and Clickable Links are available for Registered Members only!!  You need to Login or Register This site requires membership
Most people seem to go for either Freud or Forrest blades. but the brand itself isn't that important, just the cut it leaves behind.

Any quality blade company has several styles for just about any need.
I use more than one but there are combination and/or general purpose blades if you don't want or need to change blades often.
Some examples