Denham Springs, Louisiana, USA
Denham Springs
Louisiana
USA

Jet1221VS
Which chisel set?
Nov 7th, 2020 at 8:12pm

Hi everyone.
I’m just getting started and can use as much help as I can. I’m about to order a Jet 1221VS lathe, but not sure which chisel set to start with. I want something better then the Harbor Fright starter set, but I don’t want to start off with Carter and Son.
I would like to know what y’all would recommend.
« Last Edit: Nov 7th, 2020 at 8:13pm by Lee Bihm »  

IP Logged

Dave Richards

WR Rocks!

Re: Which chisel set?
Reply #1 - Nov 7th, 2020 at 8:58pm

check out Benjamin Best at Penn State. Suggest not buying a set but get individual tools you need depending on what you plan to turn

IP Logged

Glenn Jacobs
WR Addict

JC L&S

North DFW, Texas, Texas, USA
North DFW, Texas
Texas
USA

Powermatic 3520C
Reply #2 - Nov 8th, 2020 at 10:43am

Lee, sent you a PM

Glenn J.

Woodworking all my life. Turning since ~93
Glenn+J  
IP Logged

Lee Bihm

WR Rocks!

Denham Springs
Louisiana
USA

Jet1221VS
Reply #3 - Nov 8th, 2020 at 11:21am

Thanks Glenn
I plan to start off turning bowls, but who knows what else will peak my interest.

IP Logged

Don Stephan
WR Addict

WR Rocks!

Cincinnati, Ohio, Ohio, USA
Cincinnati, Ohio
Ohio
USA

Reply #4 - Nov 8th, 2020 at 12:03pm

In part the answer might depend on how you intend to sharpen, and whether you can find a mentor in your area.  I wanted from the start to learn to sharpen freehand, and struggling without a freehand sharpening mentor my first tools didn't last forever.  Now that I understand freehand sharpening and use a Robo Rest each grinding takes off just a very small amount of metal, as would one of the sharpening jigs.

There is nothing wrong with starting out with a less expensive manufacturer until you are comfortable with sharpening, then as necessary buy from a more expensive manufacturer whose tools don't dull as quickly.

IP Logged

Ed Weber
WR Administrator
WR Patron

Wilton, California, USA
Wilton