Woodturner's Resource
Woodturner's Resource  
  • Featured Artist    • Websites   Support Wr
Tutorials, Projects & Tips   • Event Calendar   • Tool and Book Store
  Home Page Forum HelpSearch Map TPT Resources LoginRegister

Pages: 1 2 
Send Topic Print
Cutting my first bowl blanks (Read 549 times)

Lee Bihm

WR Rocks!

Denham Springs, Louisiana, USA
Denham Springs
Louisiana
USA

Jet1221VS
Cutting my first bowl blanks
Nov 22nd, 2020 at 9:32pm

I got six logs from a friend. They’re approximately 25”x18 give or take an inch or two. He said the logs are from a Wild Cherry tree that was blown down last month in a storm.
I got in my new chainsaw and decided to have a little fun yesterday.

IP Logged

Lee Bihm

WR Rocks!

Denham Springs
Louisiana
USA

Jet1221VS
Re: Cutting my first bowl blanks
Reply #1 - Nov 22nd, 2020 at 9:35pm

This is my first time cutting up logs and I probably have a thing or two to learn. But I don’t think I did bad for my first try.
The chainsaw is a Greenworks Pro 80V 18”.
« Last Edit: Nov 22nd, 2020 at 9:38pm by Lee Bihm »  

IP Logged

Ed Weber
WR Administrator
WR Patron

Wilton, California, USA
Wilton
California
USA

JET 1642
Grizzly G0584
Reply #2 - Nov 23rd, 2020 at 9:20am

Lee, since you're new at this, here's a guide to the basic forms and how/where to cut them out of a log.
Multimedia File Viewing and Clickable Links are available for Registered Members only!!  You need to Login or Register

IP Logged

John Grace
WR Addict

Everyone needs a good
wingman...

Bel Air, Maryland, USA
Bel Air
Maryland
USA

Reply #3 - Nov 23rd, 2020 at 11:37am