WR Rocks!

Tampa area, Florida, USA
Tampa area
Florida
USA

3520b
Re: How long does it take?
Reply #15 - Feb 16th, 2021 at 6:22pm

I am the farthest one could be from being a production turner. I do occasional/hobby turning. With that said I did lean forward in my chair when he put that blank on the screw while it was still square. With a bandsaw a couple steps away to boot.  Huh

IP Logged

chris lawrence

WR Rocks!

JACKSON, New Jersey, USA
JACKSON
New Jersey
USA

Reply #16 - Feb 16th, 2021 at 6:42pm

Ed Weber wrote on Feb 16th, 2021 at 3:55pm:
Cutting off the corners makes a huge difference IMO
Not only is it safer, it makes life easier on you and the tools.
About 10 seconds on the bandsaw will save a lot of grief when turning.
I'm no production turner by a long shot and I could tell you that  Roll Eyes

But without the corners you can't make the fingers in the fan sounds. Grin

Multimedia File Viewing and Clickable Links are available for Registered Members only!!  You need to Login or Register
WWW Black-Label-Woodworks-1706061859611577  
IP Logged

Ed Weber
WR Administrator
WR Patron

Wilton, California, USA
Wilton
California
USA

JET 1642
Grizzly G0584
Reply #17 - Feb 16th, 2021 at 7:24pm

Smiley
That made me laugh, thanks

IP Logged

robo_hippy
WR Addict

Eugene, OR, USA
Eugene, OR
USA

Reply #18 - Feb 17th, 2021 at 12:13pm

Check out the video of Richard Raffen bowl turning that Fine woodworking did some time ago. He puts one on the screw chuck at a higher speed.... It is a practiced skill and even then, I wouldn't do it... Got away from that and drill a recess with a forstner bit to expand my chucks into. Much better, and I use the same chuck for inside and/or outside...

robo hippy

IP Logged

Ralph Fahringer
WR Addict

I'm the "Burly" Man!!

Ellsworth, Maine, USA
Ellsworth
Maine
USA

PM3520b
Reply #19 - Feb 17th, 2021 at 2:34pm

Wow!! Remember when we used to put baseball cards in the spokes of our bicycles?? Smiley