Woodturner's Resource
Woodturner's Resource  
  Featured Artist    Websites   Support Wr
Tutorials, Projects & Tips   Event Calendar   Tool and Book Store
  Home Page Forum HelpSearch Map TPT Resources LoginRegister

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Sanding Epoxy Filled Bowl (Read 96 times)

Del King
WR Noob

If it doesn't kill you
it's a learning experience!

Sanding Epoxy Filled Bowl
Jun 1st, 2021 at 1:07pm

I've been turning for many years, just about anything you can mount on a lathe. Epoxy resin is a new experiment for me and I've enjoyed learning something new. The attached picture shows tiny pinholes in the resin that remain after sanding. My normal sanding process is starting with sandpaper 100, 180, 220, 320 then 400. After that I go to the micro mesh pads that start at 1500 and go to 12000. I followed this process for the epoxy experiment but a few tiny pinholes still remain after the final 12000 pad. These are tiny and are not air bubbles. I went back and sanded with 400 grit just to highlight what the pin holes look like. I'm wondering if I need to use a sanding sealer before I start the sanding process. I appreciate any input from others who have traveled this path.

Del

IP Logged

Register To Remove Ads
chris lawrence

WR Rocks!

JACKSON, New Jersey, USA
JACKSON
New Jersey
USA

Re: Sanding Epoxy Filled Bowl
Reply #1 - Jun 1st, 2021 at 2:21pm

Not sure about the holes but your skipping many sanding steps.  Get some 600 800 and 1000 grit paper and wet sand from 600 up.  It might be from the big jump in grits.

Multimedia File Viewing and Clickable Links are available for Registered Members only!!  You need to Login or Register
WWW Black-Label-Woodworks-1706061859611577  
IP Logged

Del King
WR Noob

If it doesn't kill you

Reply #2 - Jun 1st, 2021 at 3:36pm

OK. Thank you.

Del

IP Logged

chris lawrence

WR Rocks!

JACKSON, New Jersey, USA
JACKSON
New Jersey
USA

Reply #3 - Jun 1st, 2021 at 4:01pm