andylasslett

I LOVE WR!!!

Gillette, Wyoming, USA
Gillette
Wyoming
USA

Etsy
Dec 31st, 2009 at 12:48am

hey fellas, needing your opinion on something my mother has been bugging me about. My mother has told me i should selling my stuff she has been to quite a few craft fairs and said my stuff is better then the stuff she saw there. I never heard of it but im sure you have, Etsy. I checked it out and it doesnt look bad im assuming its like ebay only for strictley hand made items. Some of the sites i looked at had some pretty nice stuff for sale and they werent dirt cheap just to sell them. ive never set up a web site im sure i could figure it out but just never had the reason to need one. Just looking for some feedback i havent heard anything about it one way or the other. Hoping someone here uses it or knows of someone who does. Im pretty new to turning even though Im proud of what ive accomplished in just a few months im still a ways off from selling stuff like i see here in the gallery or on other websites, But i definetly wouldnt mind making a couple bucks from it someday. Thanks in advance on your thoughts on this......Andy

IP Logged

Register To Remove Ads
Brad_Mortensen
WR Addict

WR Rocks!

Re: Etsy
Reply #1 - Dec 31st, 2009 at 6:52am

I sell on Etsy, it is cheap for listing .20 for 3 months and their commissions are not too high either. But, more importantly they are getting a name and people are going there specifically to look for things. If you try it the biggy is in the section where you list tags, list all you can think of directly related to your item.
In the last 6+months etsy has probably accounted for 75% of my sales. Which is way up, I don't know if it is the economy thing or if the site is just getting that much more popular.
But, definately worth a try.
Brad

IP Logged

Lark Leazar
WR Addict

Hook 'Em!

Conroe, Texas, USA
Conroe
Texas
USA

Reply #2 - Jan 1st, 2010 at 7:40am

Interesting site.