Woodturner's Resource
Woodturner's Resource  
  • Featured Artist    • Websites   Support Wr
Tutorials, Projects & Tips   • Event Calendar   • Tool and Book Store
  Home Page Forum HelpSearch Map TPT Resources LoginRegister

Pages: 1 2 
Send Topic Print
What finish do you use (Read 2,617 times)

gary r heltemes

WR Rocks!

williston, North Dakota, USA
williston
North Dakota
USA

What finish do you use
Feb 28th, 2015 at 9:01am

I've been turning for maybe 3 yrs., and started with a friction finish (1/3 blo-1/3dna-1/3shellac f/flakes). I tried making my own wop (50%poly-50%thinner). I have also tried a couple other purchased finishes, like rattle can lacquer and rattle can shellac, that I wasn't happy with. I am now giving Formby's tung oil a go.
I mainly turn bowls and hollow forms.
What do you use......I am curious.

IP Logged

Register To Remove Ads
Bill Neff
WR Addict

WR Rocks!

Barronett, Wisconsin, USA
Barronett
Wisconsin
USA

Jet 1642EVS
Re: What finish do you use
Reply #1 - Feb 28th, 2015 at 10:23am

I've gotten to where I really like Danish oil for my bowls, especially those that are for use.  For display bowls (like natural edge with bark) I use a gloss wipe on poly.

Some people are like slinkies... totally worthless but it puts a smile on your face when you push them down the stairs.
IP Logged

Louie Powell
WR Addict

Saratoga Springs, New York, USA
Saratoga Springs
New York
USA

PSI 12" Turncrafter Commander
Reply #2 - Feb 28th, 2015 at 11:05am

Gary

Choice of finish is a very personal matter - not all that different from, say, boxers versus briefs. There are lots of options to choose from.