WR Rocks!

Manchester, Tennessee, USA
Manchester
Tennessee
USA

Tracking sales
Nov 5th, 2013 at 5:38pm

Hello all,
I am still very new to wood turning.  However I am thinking if / when I get good enough to sell I wouldn't mind the extra income.  So my question is for those of you who sell your work how do you track your sales and customers?  Do you just use excel or access or ???  I am just trying to look at this from all perspectives.  Thanks
P.S. I have looked through a lot of the pictures of the work that is turned out from you all, and I am truly stunned at the craftsmanship that I see.

If you don't have time to do it right, why do you have the time to do it twice?

IP Logged

Register To Remove Ads
JimQuarles
WR Addict
WR Patron

WR Rocks, BIG Time!

Glendale, AZ, Arizona, USA
Glendale, AZ
Arizona
USA

Re: Tracking sales
Reply #1 - Nov 5th, 2013 at 11:47pm

John, I use spreadsheets to track inventory and sales.  Every piece I make for sale, gets a number.  Right now pens and similar small items are 13-A94, 13 = year finished, and pen number, A00 = 1100.  Right now bowls and similar are 13N-019.  Spreadsheet has pen style, description of blank, cost basis for the pen kit used, and anything I may have paid for the blank.  Selling price, date, where sold and/or to whom it was sold,