Ed Gallop

WR Rocks!

Stuart, Virginia, USA
Stuart
Virginia
USA

Ready for Chess...
Apr 7th, 2015 at 10:25pm

I recently started practicing turning chess men (knight first) and am ready to start turning a set. I first thought maybe cocobolo and olivewood or canarywood but after calculating the cost have not decided yet. After considerable thought I think I'll have more problems with the board construction than the men. Not sure which is the best way to approach making it. Anyone here have any advice? Also, I know how oily cocobolo is and not sure stabilizing will help. What wood would you use, keeping the board and men the same?

Ed Gallop  
IP Logged

Michael Kratzer
WR Noob

WR Rocks! If its not broke
then I'm not done

Bloomsburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Bloomsburg
Pennsylvania
USA

Re: Ready for Chess...
Reply #1 - Apr 7th, 2015 at 11:14pm

I have made 2 sets both out of walnut and American holly they turned out to be very nice sets. I have a set I'm going to start soon out of wendg and yellow heart because they go together well and both take a good finish. I hope it works out for you Chess sets are fun to make. Thumbs Up Thumbs Up

michael kratzer  
IP Logged

Ed Weber
WR Administrator
WR Patron

Wilton, California, USA
Wilton
California
USA

JET 1642
Grizzly G0584
Reply #2 - Apr 8th, 2015 at 11:03am

Ed, Ive made many chess boards and there are a couple of things to keep in mind.
Some of this may sound very basic but you'd be surprised.
Fist you need to establish size, either the board or the piece. Pieces that are too big or too small for the board will detract from the overall look. Visit chess sites and you can easily find what size best fits what.
The board portion should have a good contrast, not necessarily black & white, but a good contrast.
As for board construction, wood choice is up to you, just be aware of the gluing properties of each species and act accordingly.